I was watching the Valero Texas Open this week, and saw something I had never seen – a PGA player shooting a 16 on a hole. Kevin Na got into trouble in the trees – and it was interesting to watch as it answered a golf rule question I had wondered about. When you are in the trees, as I am often when I golf, once you hit a shot, you cannot go back to the tee. It there is no room to play behind you (away from the pin), then your only choice is to take unplayables (2 club lengths) or just whack away at it.
The other interesting thing was I had never seen a golfer lose track of the number of strokes he has taken – if you watch the video near the end its an interesting conversation between the golfer and the caddie.